Lending the Thunder a Helping Hand

Still selling Jeff Green jerseys.

That’s right.

For the first-time reader, all you need to know about me is that I’m obscenely handsome.  However, if you are looking for tidbits related to my basketball opinions, a good place to start would be understanding that I’m from Seattle and I don’t exactly support the Oklahoma City Thunder.

However, I’m a MAN.  When you’re a man, you demonstrate your manliness by showing compassion for those in need… even if you aren’t particularly fond of them.  When it comes to the Thunder, everyone knows that they’re a team with young talent galore.  Quite honestly, as much as it pains me to say, we’ll probably be hearing about this particular group for a very long time.  It hurts but, to be clear, I have nothing against the players at all.

The problem with those players is that they’re tough to market.  Yes, they’re fantastic basketball players, but not one of them has an overwhelmingly appealing personality.  This is where I can help.

I have a bachelor’s degree in Communications from the University of Washington.  Contrary to popular belief, it’s not a complete joke major.  You have to be particularly adept at reading, writing, and showing up to things on time.  Journalism was the specific emphasis (which is flagrantly obvious to anyone who reads my beautiful prose on a regular basis), but I also spent a lot of time taking Marketing courses.  I sharpened my already-established ability to make things look a lot more appealing than they actually might be…

… so, here are some GREAT ideas that the folks in Oklahoma City might want to pay attention to:

RUSSELL WESTBROOK

Westbrook is an explosive player and one of the top point guards in the league.  I tried to capture his essence with this amazing poster:

$19.99

Note the fearsome look on his face.  Furthermore, I added that electric-blue smoke as a reference to the aftermath of some wicked lightning bolts.  What accompanies lightning?

THUNDER.  Get it?!  It’s blue because blue is a part of the team’s color scheme.  I also included the school-paper background to reinforce the importance of academics to the team’s young fans.

SERGE IBAKA

Ibaka is an ultra-athletic, shot-blocking machine.  His effort is inspiring and energizing, not unlike a popular soft drink that took the world by storm in the mid-90s.  This one was easy:

When it comes to bringing back the caffeine-laden, citrus-infused soda of my youth, I say there’s no time like the present.

JAMES HARDEN

Harden has always reminded me of a goat.  I don’t know if it’s the beard or what.  I figured I’d combine what I assume is that shared opinion with a rural setting that Oklahomans are likely familiar with.  Package it all together to promote a summer basketball camp, and you have this:

More to come soon.  I’ve got some great Cole Aldrich-oriented ideas…

– Wes Lilliman

[fblike]

Leave a Reply

