The good news about Metta's meltdown? It spawned the video that changed my life

Sweet tapdancing christ, this might be the greatest thing my eyes have ever seen.

A friend sent me this. And to think, all this time I thought I knew what funny was, or at least in relation to the next guy. I’m not saying I’m the funniest man on earth, but chances are I’m funnier than you. Really, the last thing I’ve ever wanted to be was delusional, or unrealistic about the world at large and my place in it. Then I saw this video.

Do you know what it feels like to have your perception of something just get totally upended? To have the truth smack in you in the face like Rick James did to Charlie Murphy?

I do now. I saw this video, produced in Taiwan, detailing the Ron Artest/Metta World Peace Saga. It’s crazy, it’s brilliant and it makes absolutely perfect sense and no sense whatsoever, all at the same time. It’s some absurdly fucking warped version of perfection, obviously the brainchild of someone who he sees the world in a way a mere mortal is simply incapable. Before I get into it though, like all the way up into how great it is, you should see it too.

There’s no other possible reaction but, “what the fuck???”, and I don’t mean that in any kind of bad way. Seriously, what the fuck did I just see? I feel the same way I did the first time I saw HUSTLE or “Stir Crazy” with Richard Pryor and Gene Wilder. Like I was just granted access to some special universe where all the funny people be at.

I don’t need to do a blow-by-blow or whatever, this shit speaks for itself. I’ll just mention a few things, like the beheading of James Harden, or the fact that Austin Daye was in High School when the Palace Brawl took place, and leave it at that.

Considering Ron Artest might be amnestied this off-season after his latest meltdown, there is a good chance that this might be his swan song as a Laker. And if I can be real for a minute, this video might be my most enduring memory of his stint here.

I’m totally good with that.

-John Hathwell

Leave a Reply

