ALL IT TOOK WAS A DICK JOKE AND SOME GOOD OLD FASHIONED IGNORANCE TO RUIN THE JOY OF LINSANITY

You might have seen it for a split second, if you were paying attention. Somewhere in the middle of Jeremy Lin’s career night, the ESPN cameras managed to catch what they thought was a pro-Jeremy Lin sign, only to switch away moments later. It all happened quickly enough for some to miss it, but since I have both a camera and A DVR, I was able to get a decent picture.

I mean, I don’t even know where to begin, so I’m not gonna.

Meanwhile, in another part of the city…

Jason Whitlock, the opinionated, some would say militant sportwriter, the man who once called  another black writer a clown and a fake ghetto posturer, took to twitter and made this joke about Lin:

Yeah, he made the cursory apology and all that as if it matters.

What can I tell you, other than leave it to the dummies of the world to pervert and besmirch the purest, the most innocent, the most inspirational story we’ve seen in sports in forever and a day.

I’m doing my best not to get all serious and shit, but who can blame me really? How often do we ever see stuff like this happen, where an undrafted kid hustles his way onto and NBA team, languishes for over a year on the fringes of the league and then, down to seemingly his last option, explodes into an instant megstar in the number one market in the country, rescuing a Knick team that was basically down to it’s last strike?

I mean, this is Disney blockbuster movie in the making, only you don’t have to change any of the story to make it marketable. This tale is the goods, period.

And now, it’s already got shit all over it, thanks to the handy work of all the “comedians” out there, both professional and otherwise. Leave it to the geniuses to reduce the Jeremy Lin story to a parade of racial slurs and dick jokes.

I mean, all that’s missing is an “asians can’t drive” crack.

Oh wait, nevermind, Forbes took care of that one.

I guess I’ll have to stick to making Superman 2 jokes. At least until someone decides that being from Krypton means your stingy or can’t dance or whatever the fuck.

I give up.

-John Hathwell

Leave a Reply

