A FEW NOTES TO MAKE YOU FEEL GREAT ABOUT THE NBA

Sure seem to be a lot of angry NBA fans out there, eh?

With good reason, I suppose, but it’s very easy to ride the hate wave and lash out in a manner unbefitting a human-being. Profanity and things of that nature. We’ve already done it here, so it’s time to get those smiles going and bring a few moves that have been buried beneath the mess to the surface:

JAMAALS WELL THAT ENDS WELL


(sing it with me…)

I’m coming home
I’m coming home
Tell the world that I’m coming home
Let the rain wash away
All the pain of yesterday
I know my kingdom awaits
And they’ve forgiven my mistakes
I’m coming home
I’m coming home
Tell the world that I’m coming home

“Coming Home,” Diddy – Dirty Money

Once again, a Sean Combs-produced project provides the soundtrack for what I believe is the feel-good signing of the offseason. After so many lost years, Jamaal Magloire, native of Toronto, signed with the Raptors yesterday. I couldn’t help but get a little emotional upon reading the news, as Magloire became the first Canadian-born player to ink a deal with the 16-year old franchise’s history. I’m not Canadian or anything, but it just felt GOOD to me. I immediately went to http://www.jamaalmagloire.com to get the official word, and I was greeted with the top story…

“HEAT Re-Signs Jamaal Magloire
Monday, 19 July 2010″

… alright, so the website hasn’t been updated in nearly a year and a half, but that’s okay.

Basketball-wise, it’s a move that will have some sort of impact, no doubt. Magloire will look to recapture the glory of the 2003-04 season, when he was voted to the Eastern Conference All-Star squad. Time well tell, but I feel like the BIG CAT is BACK:

(Above: A Canadian Lynx. It was the best I could find in the way of a “Canadian big cat.”)

It should be noted that a Google search of “Jamaal Magloire” brings up the following as the first four results:

– Official website
– NBA.com Player Info page
– Wikipedia page
– “Jamaal Magloire’s Girlfriend”

That last one had the following preview:

Discussion forum for Jamaal Magloire’s girlfriend. Does Jamaal Magloire have a girlfriend? Is he dating someone? Is he married? Would you date him? Did you …

It cut off there. Rather than click the link, I felt it better to just let my imagination run with it. Also, I didn’t want the plethora of viruses that most definitely come with visiting the aforementioned site.

THE PARTY AIN’T OVER

Ben Wallace just might have a little left in the tank.

After 15 years and a riot-inciting brawl or two, many speculated that Wallace would call it quits. Fortunately, Ben had this defiant statement for the Detroit Free Press:

“I’m leaning more toward playing than not playing.”

BOOM. He also noted that he was “[mentally] … at 80 percent (coming back). Physically trying to catch up.” I’M SOLD. I think that means he’s at about 50-60% in the physical sense or something along those lines. Watch ’em line up, folks.

AIN’T THAT A BUTCH

The New Orleans Hornets have obviously been in the news lately, yet everyone has failed to mention one move that is good and done. Former Wisconsin big man, BRIAN BUTCH, was added to the roster on Tuesday. Previously a member of the Denver Nuggets (without actually participating in any games), Butch apparently had interest from “a dozen teams” but ultimately chose New Orleans over Golden State, Milwaukee, and Miami, according to his agent. I’ve feverishly checked ESPN for any re-airings of “THE DECISION (as made by Brian Butch),” but have been unsuccessful thus far. Here, by the way, is Brian Butch:


Go get ’em, motherfucker.

– Wes Lilliman

Leave a Reply

